I did work 2 playoff games today. The 9:30 AM one went off without a hitch. I was behind the plate and I was quite pleased with my zone. My partner was good too.
The 2:00 PM game was kind of lopsided but not without some interesting events. I was in the field and the most interesting event took place in the third inning.
With runners on first and second and one out, the batter hit a week line drive to the shortstop. The shortstop did not have to move for the ball. He let it hit his mitt and drop to the ground. I immediately called it a catch and the batter was out. The runner on second proceeded to run to third. The shortstop stepped on second for the double play. After explaining to the offensive team that a fielder could not intentionally drop a line drive, they understood my ruling. Unfortunately, I was only half right.
Rule 6.05(l) states: A batter is out when an infielder intentionally drops a fair fly ball or line drive, with first, first and second, first and third, or first, second and third base occupied before two are out. The ball is dead and runner or runners shall return to their original bae or bases.
So, I should have killed the play after the out. Thankfully, it was not a game changing play.
After three years as an umpire, I am still learning.
Blogged with the Flock Browser